Scroll to content

The White Peak Federation

Monyash Church of England
Primary School

Winster Church of England
Primary School

The White Peak Federation

Monyash Church of England
Primary School

Winster Church of England
Primary School


At Monyash C of E  Primary School we provide a stimulating curriculum which engages and interests children in their learning.  The Primary Statutory Curriculum is divided into two parts: the Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) and the National Curriculum.


The Foundation Stage Curriculum

We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children's needs, interests and stages of development across the seven areas of learning to enable the children to achieve and exceed the early learning goals.  All of the seven areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.


Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive:


  • Communication and Language;

  • Physical Development;

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


Children are also supported through four further specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The areas are:-


  • Understanding the World;

  • Expressive Arts and Design;



​When we teach phonics we use a government scheme called Letters and Sounds and Jolly Phonics which uses actions with sounds.  Letters and sounds aims to build children's speaking and listening skills as well as preparing children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills


KS1 The National Curriculum

We have an exciting skills based curriculum at Monyash C of E Primary School. -We follow the new National Curriculum which became a statutory requirement in September 2014.


In Key Stages 1 learning is developed through a creative curriculum approach. We encourage children to ask questions and develop independent skills in their learning.


The children in all years within Key Stages 1 and 2 are taught the following subjects within the National Curriculum:-

  • Maths
  • English
  • Science
  • Religious Education
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Art and Design
  • Design and Technology